I’m in a slump.

I’ve had the same headache for three days, I can’t lose any more weight, our finances are stressful, my search for a new student worker is a disaster, I need a haircut, there’s no food in our fridge because I don’t have time to buy groceries, camp season is looming ahead at work, Jamie’s day care is making tons of changes and has a shady new contract for me to sign, I managed to badly injure my right foot, Little Man keeps throwing up everything he eats, the column I wrote this week is crummy, my houseplants are drooping, I can’t seem to please my boss, there are black ants everywhere in our house, and things are so busy at my house that the only time my husband and I see each other these days is when one of us is in the bathroom and the other one is waiting for a turn.

I just can’t seem to get it together on any level. I want to be a good mother, a good housekeeper, a good gardener, a good employee, a good wife, and a good person, but the truth is, I don’t think I have the energy to even be one of those things. 

I wish I at least had the energy for a good cry, but I don’t have that, either. And I can’t focus on making any one thing better because everything else is just flying around, like evil birds pooping on my head.

Sorry I don’t have anything upbeat today and just want to feel sorry for myself. Sue me.

