OK…I’ll just admit I don’t have a really good reason for waiting this long to start blogging again, other than that lots of things have been going on. But that’s the end of that excuse, so it’s time to jump back on the wagon. Here goes:

 

For anyone who doesn’t know already, I am pregnant! Jamie will become a big brother on or around December 3. We will find out at the end of July what gender we’re expecting. In the meantime, we’re just busy trying to figure out the logistics of the house with another baby and stuff like that. So far, we still haven’t done much. We still need another crib, if anybody knows anybody…

 

Let’s see…what else? Jamie has been speaking in sentences for a couple of months now, and it’s really come on like gangbusters, so you can have whole conversations with him now, which is completely awesome! He has also discovered that the most exciting thing in the world to his two-and-a-half-year-old self is…picking beans! Seriously, we took him outside over the weekend when we had to pick green beans, and boy, did he go to town on that! He filled up a grocery sack, and was so proud of himself! We finally had to cut him off so there would be some left for other family members to come pick. Here’s some photos of him picking beans with Grandma on Sunday morning:

 

Jamie and Grandma working hard in the bean field...

Jamie and Grandma working hard in the bean field...

 

Here's a good one!

Here's a good one!

 

All in a day's work...

All in a day's work...

 

So now that the beans are harvested, the next big chore is figuring out how to get Jamie to EAT the beans! Seriously, he is still the pickiest eater I have ever seen, and that’s saying a lot considering his father would have to start eating more just to be classified as “eating like a bird”…I think I’m the only one in the house who actually eats dinner instead of just poking a big whole in the food on my dinner plate. YIKES. So, anyway, I’ve been trying to concentrate a lot lately on ways to involve Jamie with food preparation in hopes of engaging his interest in healthy food a bit more. I’ve also been trying to eat healthier, myself, too in order to avoid some of the issues I had when I was pregnant with Jamie, like preeclampsia and frequent UTI issues. So, with a lot of inspiration from other mothers out there trying to feed their families nutritious, healthy meals, I’ve really been occupied lately with making 100 percent homemade foods as much as possible, so I know exactly what I’m putting into every dish (and what I’m not!).  A MILLION THANKS to websites like greenlitebites.com (my daily “healthy toddler mommy” inspiration) for making this seem possible.

 

Let’s see…what else…Oh! Jamie got to finally “hold” his cousin, Hazel, on his own (and by on his own I mean with grown-ups on either side ready to help out if she squirmed) like a big boy. He got so excited, and she did, too. Just look:

 

Here's looking at you, kid...

Here's looking at you, kid...

 

Right back at 'ya...

Right back at 'ya...

 

So cute. Well, I’m sure I could think of a hundred other topics to discuss since last I blogged, but really, who can top pictures of cute little kids, huh? Not me, so I will end my post here, with the promise of a speedy return.

 

:)

 

–Gracie

